14 Reviews of Yum Cha from Past Customers
  • Overall
    3.9/5 based on 14 reviews
  • Food
    3.9, OK
  • Service
    4.5, Good
  • Value
    4.5, Good

“Delicious and fantastic home catering experience. Helpful and polite delivery team!”

Delicious and fantastic home catering experience. Helpful and polite delivery team!

  • May Tang, 14 Sep 2018
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 10th Sep 2018
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

.

  • Jeanette, 16 Dec 2017
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 24th Dec 2017
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

The cutest dim sum ever that took Instagram by storm! I had to check it out when we were in Hong Kong! If you go right when they open, there's really not much of a wait, but they did tell us we would have to leave by 1pm when our tables had reservations. No prob! The place is super cute and chic, like a page out of an anthropologie magazine almost. The entire building is pretty to say the least. There are really cute dim sum options, like the popular BBQ pork buns shaped like pigs, and the little molten custard buns. I would have tried the green tea ones too they are not that cheap per plate! Plus the molten custard buns are classic and they were delicious! Just be careful because the molten custard is hot! We also ordered the sausage buns shaped like dogs...these were probably my least favorite and only came with 2 and were literally just buns wrapped around Chinese sausage. The BBQ pork buns were at least pretty decent. We also got an order of ho fun, which was the most expensive item we got, but rather good actually. We needed to fill up on something! And lastly, we got the pineapple pastry birds in a cage...super cute! Almost too cute to eat. They aren't taiwanese pineapple pastries, but still pretty decent. All in all, prepare to spend a good amount of money on not that much food. I think after the 10% service charge (automatic) we spent about $55, which is quite a lot for 4 dim sum dishes and 1 order of noodles! But on the flip side, you'll be entertained AF. We haven't played with our food this much in awhile! lol

  • Jasmine, 4 Jan 2017
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

The food at Yum Cha is Instagram worthy. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is chic. We ordered everything with eyes except for the hot dog buns and they were all very delicious. This is a must try after you experienced traditional dim sum!

  • Karen, 15 Dec 2016
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

The delivery service was good. The delivery man was polite and responsible. However, the food was not what we expected. The taste wasn't friendly except the buns. I'm amazed with the sms notification. It would be better if a confirmation message could be sent 24-hours or a day ahead

  • Chrissie, 24 Nov 2016
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 19th Nov 2016
2 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

The food is not good, many items were broken when we got the delivery and food's outlook is bad

  • Zoe, 3 Nov 2016
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 31st Oct 2016
1 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

Food is pretty good, and as everyone's been saying, presentation of food is excellent and the environment is bright and comfortable. Great place to take kids to because the cute buns will make them go crazy. Giving them 4 stars because the service is very mediocre and not attentive. I pre-ordered sweet buns via the phone as I wanted them to write a happy bday message on the plate - they said it's not a problem and will charge me HK$20 to do that - fine - I said because I'll be coming with the bday girl I don't want to remind you on the day (I called one day in advance), so it could come as a surprise. They said it's not a problem - well just as I sorta expected, this didn't happen and they still charged me the extra $20 on the bill. Also, I recognize that it's a busy place for lunch, a waitress was running in and out and accidentally pushed me really hard - it was obvious that she knew she pushed me but didn't bother to turn around to say something. Oh well. Welcome to HK. Haha.

  • Samantha, 22 Sep 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

Really expensive, cute dimsum. All of their food is on the expensive side, but if you get the deals, it will save a significant amount of money. All plates are pretty small (think two fists in length) so you're going to need to order at least 6-8 plates for 3 people. The molten buns are my favorite! They do live up to the hype :) The place is very modern, right in the center of the financial district. We waited 10 minutes with no reservation on a weekday at noon, so the wait won't be too long either.

  • Anna, 4 Sep 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

Yum Cha is home to the infamous custard buns making their way around social media, with custard bursting out of them when you squeeze it. The restaurant itself is very modern and stylish, and you definitely need a booking otherwise you'll be facing a significant queue! The food here is more expensive than other dim sum places, but actually, I thought it was pretty damn good and not just style over substance. Sure, the custard in the buns is a bit split and not particularly fantastic, but you can see the chefs preparing all the food in the kitchens and the general standard here is good. Overall, 4 stars for good dim sum and creativity, but not entirely worth the price apart from the novelty after your first visit!

  • Ed, 26 Jun 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

The cute buns drew me to this dim sum place and since it was my friend's birthday I made a reservation for 5 people at 1:15pm on a holiday Monday. We still had to wait for 15 minutes to get a table despite the reservation and they only start you on the list once you check in at the front desk so I suggest getting in earlier than your reserved time if possible. Anyway we started a first round of appetizers including a kale salad which I found really refreshing. The eggplant dish was good but not spectacular and the shrimp appetizer was fresh. Of the dim sum foods I recommend the spicy Siu Mai. It's Sichuan style but with just the right amount of spicy numbing action. The beef balls were yummy and those who doesn't like the water chestnut in them will like this version of the dish. Next to the steamed buns and cute desserts. The runny custard bun was cute and we had fun poking a hole in the bun and letting the custard "run" so that the bun was essentially puking. The sausage rolls are shaped like dogs with a Chinese sausage inside a steamed bun. It only came in a pair so I didn't get to try it but was told it was tasty. The pineapple cakes that were shaped like birds and presented in a little cafe tasted just like the pineapple dessert should and quite pleasing to look at. The green tea bun was runny and I converted them to become a Sanrio character for my friend. We finished the meal with a soysauce noodle dish and a beets stained rice dish that came in a begger's bowl. The Chinese name was quite cute and funny if you know the idioms "近朱者赤". All in all I rate this dim sum place with a4.5 stars for service(teapot refills magically), food creativity and lack of crazy MSG. It lost half a star on the long wait in line without any chairs and a stern face hostess. I would definitely come back again for a fun meal time!

  • Fanny, 23 Apr 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food