40 Reviews of La'Taste Vietnamese Cuisine from Past Customers
  • Overall
    4.5/5 based on 40 reviews
  • Food
    4.5, Good
  • Service
    4.6, Good
  • Value
    4.3, Good

Not very nice looking place but we saw they had vegetarian options so we decided to try: great, fresh tasting food, nice spices, fast service. They could be more friendly but if the food is this nice we do not care.

  • Ty, 30 Sep 2016
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

“Very convenient”

Very much enjoyed the Vietnamese bento boxes. Very convenient for an office lunch.

  • Annemiek, 22 Sep 2016
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 22nd Sep 2016
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes
  • Ringi, 13 Sep 2016
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 13th Sep 2016
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

Love the personal follow up to make sure our order was right

  • Nickie, 23 Aug 2016
  • Verified Review: Ordered through CaterSpot on 23rd Aug 2016
3 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food
  • On-Time Delivery
    Yes

No one else in there when we arrived so we're a bit dubious but the menu looked tasty so gave it a go. We had the set menu for 2 between 2 adults and 1 child with some extra spring rolls. The service was attentive but not overwhelming and the food was delicious. Highly recommend it and people started to arrive as we were eating so maybe we were a tad early.

  • Johanna, 20 Aug 2016
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

Very good food. Nice people. Nice cool on a very hot day. Then I have soap. LOL. But it is good. Take your time to read the menu looks small but lots of different combination

  • Jos, 20 Aug 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

After having climbed, and then descended, Victoria Peak, we stumbled into this restaurant sweaty and exhausted, flusteringly asking for a table for two. As soon as the waitress saw us, she immediately brought us a jug of water before we even needed to ask. This good quality of speedy and attentive service continued throughout our stay. We had a look through the menus, and decided that the best value for money would be the 5-course sharing platter for two at a mere $150 per person. Main courses alone were about $130 otherwise, and the one I would have chosen anyway was even part of the menu. First came the cold chicken salad. The dressing was a bit strong, but really it was quite tasty. Chicken, carrot, and cucumber alongside some sour noodles and different forms of Chinese leaf made for an interesting mix. The next course was the first of two Dim Sum dishes, pork and prawn "ravioli-style" dumplings. They were nice, though quite large and difficult to eat with only chopsticks; my partner gave up and asked for a spoon. After these came the other Dim Sum, locally caught fish with cucumber in sushi-style rolls, and they were seriously good. If they had served us more than four, we could have happily gone through those all evening. At last came the centrepiece: the spicy seafood and sweetcorn fried rice. The portion, considering how much we had already eaten, was unbelievably big. They say it is a meal for two, but three could have gone through it quite happily. The spicy kick was pleasant, but not too much for my partner to bear; the real gem, however, was the seafood. It had two huge calamari rings on the top, with more hidden underneath the rice. Two enormous king prawns on skewers, and two of the biggest oysters I have ever seen dominated the centre, with scallops dotted around the rest of the dish. If I had known it would be that big a portion, I would have gone lighter on the salad. Dessert, thankfully, was small. The dessert of the day was sweetened sticky black rice with mango, and it was alright though I would not order it myself. There was too little mango, and the rice wasn't to our taste unless there was mango with it. We also received a complimentary cup of tea each which, also my partner appreciated, I didn't think was necessary. All of this, however, came to less than $400 including a tip and a few beers; the place is definitely good value for money in an otherwise expensive city, and I would love to eat here again.

  • Simon, 24 Jul 2016
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

This little gem transformed out of another restaurant just up the road. The chefs took their secret recipe and moved to this current location. It's not the prettiest restaurant in town however that doesn't stop this place from serving up a wide and very yummy selection of tasty Vietnamese cuisine. Lunchtime is the most popular and they do a quick turnover of food and people. Don't expect long chats taking the entire afternoon in this place. Although they won't ask you to move along in the busy times it is expected because they still need to have a high-turnover. The dinner time is a little more relaxed. Try the Pho,stuffed chicken wings and the sole fillet rolls. You can't go wrong. Top it off with a Vietnamese coffee at the end.... What a great way to continue the afternoon or evening.

  • Tim, 25 Jun 2016
  • Web Review
4 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

Just a stone throw from the mid level escalators, I stumbled across a huge sign announcing La Taste Vietnamese Cuisine. So I abandoned my quest for HK noodles and opted for Vietnamese instead. A cold glass of Saigon beer was promptly served and it hit the spot! Since I was alone, I ordered the pho with thin slice of beef. I was pleasantly surprised! The beef was sliced perfectly and served rare, just like how I like it. Furthermore, the broth was just rich and flavourful. Just as good as any pho I have tasted! Reasonably priced at just 64 HKD, I can see the attraction of this place.

  • Ben, 11 Mar 2016
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food

Revisited recently and just as good as ever. Lunch is frenetic so either go early or late.

  • Mikey, 10 Dec 2015
  • Web Review
5 / 5
  • Summary
  • Food